Last Stateside Updates

Time passes differently when you’re among your people – your circle of friends, your family, in your home base. When I’m traveling I try to write a blog entry at least once a week. That’s a lot harder to do when you’re busy socializing with people you won’t see for awhile.

So, some updates.

I have housing.

Shortly after my last entry, I got an email with my housing assignment. That seemed to contradict the previous email, but I’ll take it. I am staying in the newest dorm on campus and paying a fair amount for the pleasure, but no more than I would if I was living in DC. By newest I mean, I’ll be the first one to be in the room I’m assigned to. It’s en suite, so I do not have to share a bathroom. I do have to share a kitchen, which is not terribly surprising. I will continue to lust after my own kitchen, with my own organization and my own level of cleanliness. My fantasy kitchen has a gas stove top and a well organized/stocked pantry that I do not have to worry about housemates raiding.

I am packed.

No, really.

The only thing that has changed about the image above is that, due to the weight of the books and shoes I am insisting on bringing, I will have to check that little plaid bag instead of carrying it on. And yes, I am aware that I am bringing tea to a country that is famous for its tea. I am particular.

I had a going away brunch this past Saturday. Really, it was less about going away and more about the fact that I had been in the country almost three months and not thrown a brunch yet. And I love brunches. I love brunches despite the fact that I get sick on breakfast pastries and mimosas just about every time. I made a Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Chocolate Cinnamon Swirl from Baked, one of my favorite cookbooks. I possibly drank a whole bottle of champagne to myself, but I honestly couldn’t tell you.

Dressed up at the Renfaire with Luke

It is possibly a sign that I am going old that eating all that sugar and booze totally wrecked my stomach for most of the following night. But I woke up and hit the greasy food on a stick and Mead the Maryland Renfaire. And yes, I dressed up. It was my first renfaire, but if you’re going to do something like that, you should embrace every goofy aspect of it. Including fried green beans and costume rentals.

I’m not coming back to the States for the Christmas holidays. I love everyone back here, but it was around 1K round trip when I checked for just the airfare, and well. No one can really blame me for spending $150 round trip to fly to Greece instead. Can they?
Luke is flying to the UK to visit me for about three weeks. Two of those weeks (including Christmas weekend) will be in Greece – the flights are already booked. Yesterday we put a deposit down on a studio apartment in Western Crete (more pictures), where we will spend the four days of Christmas weekend.
Luke and I are both periodically: “Holy shit, we’re spending Christmas in Crete. *giggle*”

Tonight: drinks with a few friends, and a sad attempt to stay up as late as I can because tomorrow… tomorrow, I’m at Dulles for my 6:40pm flight to Heathrow. (Ideally, if I sleep on the plane I can skip that whole jet lag nonsense.)
Next chapter, here we go.


On an unrelated note, I ran into an acquaintance at the Renfaire who is in one of my social circles that I have not been very good at keeping up with (not because they aren’t all awesome, just because I’m human and used to have more overlap in my crazy social life). His partner, another one of my friends in this circle, was diagnosed with cancer. There’s a team in support with her at the Light the Night Walk here.

This entry was posted in Preparation, United States, Generally and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

