A Moment of Peace

29 June 2011
Paris, France
9 am

Early morning view from the Sacré-Cœur Basilica

I am sitting at the top of the dome of the Basilique du Sacré-Cœur with the Eiffel Tower off in the distance and Paris at my feet. The dome opened at 8:30 am, but the ticket office doesn’t open until 10. They offer an electronic ticket option, but that’s why the hoards are kept at bay.
And there are hoards. It’s better now that I’m staying in a different part of Paris after Mom left, but I’m pretty much done with other people right now. What I am saying is that it was worth it to eat the credit card fee, because I am the only one up here. I’ve been here for an hour and my only company are the pigeons. It’s like my own private viewing of the city, with a level of peace and quiet I didn’t think you could find here.
I can’t think of a better way to spend an hour or so. Hopefully the peace will remain.
It’s hard to believe that his is my last day of this six month traipse around the world. I’m ready to stop sleeping in hostels and such, but I’m not sure how I am going to adjust to normal life.
I think I’m ready to move forward, though. I’m done with dicking around. I want a career, a partner, a house. Kids, eventually. Not for another six years or so.
It sounds so boring and normal.
But I’m not sure if who I am now can make anything boring and normal.

This entry was posted in France 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

