Night

6 May – Night @ 2,800 meters

I have seen many things in my short lifetime so beautiful that my breath was taken as payment for its existence.

But tonight… Tonight, I wept at the beauty of the stars.

Here, they are so close that, having seen them without even the moon to pollute their life, sleep seems such a waste and human light the greatest sin.

If I am made out of the same matter as the stars, if I am the stars and the moon and these mountains and the very paper I write on
What is God but the same?

A star shot across the sky.

And I could think of nothing to wish for.

This entry was posted in Nepal 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

