Poll: Orientation Week or Not?

So, Volunteer HQ offers an orientation week that adds an additional week to your time with the program. Timing wise, if I do the orientation week, that will be from January 17th to January 22nd and my time with the program would end May 14th.
If I don’t do the orientation week, I will jump right into volunteering after a day’s condensed orientation and my program would end on May 7th.
The orientation week is largely Delhi-related sightseeing and Hindi language classes.

Now, ideally, I will be beyond the level of basic Hindi that they can teach me in a few days of Hindi language classes at this point. Also, I will ideally be comfortable enough to go into Delhi from my suburban base on the weekends. I would have to leave on the 13th of May (at the latest) anyway in order to get to Nepal in time to do the trekking program if that is what I decide to do. I’m eying that extra week (May 7th through 14th) and thinking about jaunting up to Dharmasala for a few days and then taking an un rushed, meandering overland route to where I need to be in Nepal. (I’m currently researching the logistics of going from Dharmasala straight into Nepal – it looks like I’ll have to go back to Delhi and then head up to Kathmandu regardless, if anyone knows of a way to get to Nepal from Dharmasala that is feasible without too many logistical backflips, let me know.)

All that being said, a week to get my bearings in India before volunteering, to adjust and such, would be appreciated. Any thoughts on the matter?

This entry was posted in Asia, Preparation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

