Xe buýt Pride!

I am absurdly proud of my new-found ability to get on and off the bus (xe buýt) with some grace – while it is still moving.

A month and a half ago I was still scared of taking the bus and getting lost in the sprawl of Ho Chi Minh City. Man, I wish I could tell myself one month ago to take the damned bus earlier, it would have saved me a lot of money (taxi = about $7 each way; bus = $0.19 each way).

I am also absurdly proud of understanding the woman who talked to me at the bus stop. All she asked me where I was going and why my white ass was in Thu Duc (that’s a rough translation).

This entry was posted in Asia, Vietnam 2007 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

